M.A.Center, Washington DC

Ayyappa Pooja with Br.Ramanand

Dec 9, 2017 4:30pm-9:00pm (ended)


  • 4:30 PM: Lalitha Sahasranama Archana
  • 5:30 PM: Break
  • 6:00 PM: 
    • Amma's 108 names
    • Ayyappa Abhishekam
    • Ayyappa Kavacham
    • Padi Pattu
    • Ayyappa Namaskaram
    • Harivarasanam
    • Amma Arati
    • Meditation
  • 9:00 PM : Dinner ($7 for adults, $5 for children. Cash and checks accepted)

Ayyappa Puja Significance:

Lord Ayyappa is a symbol of religious unity and communal harmony.  

He is the presiding deity of Sabarimala temple. He came down to earth to free his devotees from the clutches of demon Mahishi. Lord Ayyappa enshrined in the Sabarimala temple combines both these aspects of Brahman. In the Puranic lore, as usual, this fact is presented in an interesting and symbolic story form as Sri Ayyappa represents both Vishnu and Shiva in one Divinity, He is worshipped both as Protector and Deliverer.

Sabarimala (Mount Sabari - about 3000 feet above sea level) is the most favorite and significant temple in Kerala. Pilgrimage to this temple symbolizes the journey to heaven. The journey of a spiritual candidate to Sabarimala is difficult and adventurous. The pilgrims observe severe austerities, wearing rudraksha or tulsi beads strings in the neck and trek up the dense forest filled with wild animals to reach the temple. The feeling of delight and spiritual elevation one gets when devotees have the darshan of the deity is remarkable and significant. The magnetic charm is so high, it makes any devotee, who undertakes the yatra (pilgrimage) once, want to revisit the shrine every year in quest of spiritual solace.

Sabarimala temple is open to all, irrespective of caste, creed, religion, social status or nationality. The pilgrims undergo 41 days of fast to cleanse the mind. They carry on their head, the holy ghee for the Lord's Abisheka (A ceremonial bath performed in the worship of a Deity) filled in coconut in an "Irumudi" (two compartment cloth bag). 

 Pathinettapadi (18 divine steps) to the sanctum sanctorium is divine in all aspects. Every Ayyappa devotee, before he sees the Sanctum Sanctorum, has to lay his footsteps over eighteen sacred steps. The first five steps symbolise the five human senses (Panchendriyas) i.e. visual (vision), auditory (hearing), olfactory (smell), gustatory (taste) and tactile (touch). These signify the `mortal’ nature of one’s body. The next eight steps symbolise the eight Ashtaragas viz, Kama, Krodha, Lobha, Moha, Madha, Maltsarya, Asooya, Dhumb (Love, Anger, Avarice, Lust, Pride, Unhealthy Competition, Jealousy and Boastfulness). The next three steps stand for three Gunas or Thrigunas (nature-born qualities) i.e. Satva, ( perspicuity, discernment) , Rajas (activity, enjoyment) and Thamas (inactivity, stupor). The last two steps represent Vidya (Knowledge) and Avidya (Ignorance).

The shrine is open only during a specific period in a year. It is open from Mid- November to Mid-January and for first five days of every Malayalam month.